Minutes

Annual General Meeting Alberta Taekwondo Association April 29, 2018 – Edmonton, AB

Meeting Called to Order at 11:05am by Grandmaster Su Hwan Chung (Chair).

1. Roll Call:

The following Directors were in attendance at the AGM:

Grandmaster Su Hwan Chung, Master Linda Kwan, Master Derek Sadler, Master Jenny Min, Mr. Darrel Pendry, Master Shawn Arsenault, Master Tracy Bonertz, Master Shelley Vettese-Baert, Master Kevin Mejia, Master Jeremy Wilhelm

A quorum was reached with an additional 15 Black Belt Voting Members in attendance.

2. Review of Previous Meeting Minutes

The minutes of the Annual General Meeting from April 23, 2017, having been posted on the ATA website, the Chair asked if there were any errors or corrections. The Chair declared the Minutes adopted as published by General Consent.

3. Chairman's Report

Grandmaster Chung gave the Chairman's Report. The Chair declared the report received.

4. Treasurer's Report

Mr. Pendry gave the Treasurer's Report. The Chair declared the report received.

5. Financial/Auditor's Report

The Audited Financial Statements for the September 1, 2016 – August 31, 2017 fiscal year were presented.

Motion by Mr. Leonard D'Silva to adopt the Auditor's Report. Seconded. Carried.

Motion by Mr. Darrel Pendry to appoint Lim & Associates as Auditor for the September 1, 2017 to August 31, 2018 fiscal year. Seconded. Carried.

6. Membership Report

Master Jeremy Wilhelm gave the Membership Chair's Report. The Chair declared the report received.

7. Coaching Report

Master Shelley Vettese-Baert gave the Coaching Chair's Report. The Chair declared the report received.

8. Referee Report

Master Tracy Bonertz gave the Referee Chair's Report.

The Chair declared the report received.

9. Tournament Report

Master Shawn Arsenault gave the Tournament Chair's Report. The Chair declared the report received.

10. Unfinished Business

None

11. New Business

Mr. Andy Ross made a presentation on Concussion Protocol.

12. Election of the Board of Directors

Grandmaster James Lo was asked by Grandmaster Chung to Chair the meeting from this point.

The following individuals were nominated in advance:

Harvey Strome – declined the nomination

The following individual was nominated from the floor:

Andy Ross Amanda Min Terry DeFreitas Sandy Bowman Leonard D'Silva Kichul Nam Shelley Vettese-Baert Su Hwan Chung

The following individuals were elected to the Board of Directors:

Terry DeFreitas Su Hwan Chung Sandy Bowman Shelley Vettese-Baert

Motion by Mr. Darrel Pendry that the election ballots be destroyed. Seconded. Carried.

Immediately after the results of the election was announced, the Board members held a brief meeting amongst themselves to select individuals to their respective positions on the Board.

The Results of the Board Position Elections are as follows:

Su Hwan Chung – Chairman Jenny Min – 1st Vice Chairman Linda Kwan – 2nd Vice Chairman Sandy Bowman – Secretary General Darrel Pendry – Treasurer Shelley Vettese-Baert – Coaching Director Kevin Mejia – Technical Director Shawn Arsenault – Tournament Director Tracy Bonertz – Referee Director Terry DeFreitas – Medical Director Jeremy Wilhelm – Membership Director Sarah Spooner – Athlete Director

Meeting adjourned at 1:00pm by General Consent by Grandmaster Chung.